Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Primadonna 1 to 20 of 20

 

 Boat/Barge: Primadonna • REMOVE  About Primadonna

  • Cindy T. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    This was our first bike & boat trip and we loved it. Each day was a treat with amazing cathedrals, quaint towns, and Budapest at night was gorgeous! The ship was just as pictured, the crew was very attentive and helpful, and we enjoyed our balcony room on the top level. We were slightly concerned that we'd be the only English speaking passengers, but were up for the adventure. However, most of the crew spoke both English and German and at dinner they placed us among about 8 tables of Canadians, Americans, and others who preferred speaking English to German. Each evening, about 80% of the passengers preferred the bike tour information in German, but they provided a slide show and directions in both languages. The directions were good, an there was only one day we all were a bit lost, but it was fun. With everyone on the boat having distinctive blue panniers, it was easy to follow each other and laugh at our attempts to navigate. We still had plenty of time to see everything Read more… and get to the ship.

    As far as the bike routes, I prefer dedicated bicycle paths (not "sharrows") and loved every ride. Most were on dedicated paved paths, but some traversed through villages on very quiet roads. A few tips: Breakfast was the best meal of the day. Check your packed lunch at breakfast, which typically contained a veggie (cheese) sandwich, a cold cut sandwich, fruit, sparkling water, and a pastry. From the breakfast buffet, you can exchange the fruit and add a slice of meat to your veggie sandwich. If you don't like sparkling water, they will exchange that for bottled water at the reception desk. Dinner was good and I thought the portion size was reasonable given the four course meals (the soups were yummy!). Watch the tightness of the breaks on the bikes (the front break can launch you if you're not careful) but the bikes were in great condition. Plan ahead for your massage (which was fantastic). One came with the room and we purchased a second. We chose to skip one day of biking along the Danube, and we're pleased that we had plenty of time to bike around the town in the morning before the ship left port, get lunch, a massage, and a nap, and then bike around the new port we arrived in that afternoon.

    Thanks to all the crew on the MS Primadonna, who learned our names and favorite drinks by the second day! We miss you already.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Terry C. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    This is the only way to do a river cruise. You are able to see and enjoy the country and at the same time stay active and get exercise. The bike paths were mostly flat, very few hills. The boat was very nice with good food and service. The highlight of the trip was entering Budapest at 10 pm. It was more than amazing. The bike guide really tried to prepare us each day for the following day bike ride, but it is easy to get lost and the maps we were given were not very clear.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Winifred T. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our most memorable part of the trip was riding with several other cyclists who had better directions, and hence did not get lost!!! We rode through rain and sun, cold wind and steep hills, chic coffee shops and picturesque towns together. This is a wonderful first time experience for our family.
    I'd suggest to get to know other cyclists as soon as possible and try to arrange riding together. This would make the journey more fun.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Anna F. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Primadonna was superb. We had a very relaxing holiday. Crash between boats in Budapest happened the night before the start of our trip so any delays because of this perfectly understandable. The fact that the Danube was very high was again outside the control of the trip personnel and we appreciated the effort put into making our trip so enjoyable.

    Boat: Primadonna

    Countries: Germany, Serbia, Austria

  • Patricia C. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Sailing down the Danube at night under the full moon we witnessed the beautiful lighted bridges and magnificent buildings of Vienna. It was magical!

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Anna A. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? Cycling the afternoon around Vienna

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Jeanne D. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    The serene beauty of the country side of Germany, Austria and Hungry. Riding a bike through these wonderful countries was very special. The barge ride was very relaxing after a day of riding.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Laney B. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was beautiful and the accommodations were great. The riding was a pleasure start to finish. We loved it all and would do it again in a heartbeat!

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Ken S. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the Abbey in Melk, Tulln Gardens and the short walk about tour in Bratislavia

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Mary B. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was sitting on the top deck in the evening, wrapped in a blanket, watching the clouds sail past the moon as the barge moved on to our next city on the Danube.
    Ensure you respond to the call to choose a table for meals on the barge if you wish to sit with or close to friends.
    Stay an extra night in Passau if you have the time...there is a lot to see and do.
    If possible, do some cycling before your trip to prepare you for the daily tours.
    If you would prefer to cycle with a guide let your agent know and they may be able to arrange it. It may be an option and worth an extra cost if it would make your trip more enjoyable.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Jeanne D. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    The serene beauty of the country side of Germany, Austria and Hungry. Riding a bike through these wonderful countries was very special. The barge ride was very relaxing after a day of riding.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Jeanne L. 10 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Great family reunion and scenic vacation. E-bikes made it easy for less experienced bicyclists to keep up with trained cyclists. Nice to hear all 8 of us laughing while riding!

    Boat: Primadonna

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • David F. 10 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Breakfast good. Bagged lunches okay but not great and they only had sparkling water which I don't like and can't drink. No option to get still water without paying extra. Dinners good but not great. Only one meal very good. Most upset about not being able to drink the water from the room sink (which was announced over the PA system just before dinner after we had been onboard for a few hours)and then having to pay for still safe water for the cabin, breakfast, lunch and dinner.
    Bike barge nightly talk about the following day was always the second talk of the evening (made for later evenings or no room in the bar). Would have liked to share the first time slot for half of the evenings.
    Concierge staff outstanding and serving staff in the dinning room good.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Janet C. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Riding along the Danube river was fantastic! We loved all the port cities and the scenery was picturesque. Our favorite memory of the trip was being able to explore on our own each day. Guiding ourselves on the daily rides was challenging but very rewarding. Usually we saw our fellow shipmates along the way and had lunch companions for our daily Danube picnics!

    Boat: Primadonna

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Linda T. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? Cruising into Budapest at night. It was breath taking!!

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Charlotte G. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful, unforgettable trip -- best part was biking into Vienna and spending the day hiking around seeing some fantastic scenery, buildings and people. Absolutely loved the boat. Some on our trip only spoke English and the staff on the boat quickly accommodated them when it became obvious those darn Germans (can say that being related and understanding what they were saying!) weren't going to shut up during the English trip briefing by moving the following days sessions into separate areas. I would certainly do another trip somewhere else sometime with this company!

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Susan W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The cruise was wonderful supported by a fantastic crew on the ship who went out of their way to provide a very positive experience.
    I had left my phone at a restaurant on the bike route and it was returned to me within 3 hours...I was so grateful.
    Having a tour guide would have been very helpful on certain days of the trip...ie Vienna.
    I was very disappointed with the fact that the biking portion of the Wachau valley that was in the itinerary had been eliminated without our knowing until the night before.
    it was to have been a highlight for our group and the cruise company said that it was Never a part of the biking route.!
    We rented e bikes at an extra cost for the 4 of us because of the distance to be covered that day and otherwise would not have.

    All of the cycling group received the same information from Tripsite about the Wachau valley and we were all disappointed.

    Otherwise I would highly recommend this trip but do feel that you should update Read more… your itinerary so that people aren't disappointed.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • York C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip. Boat and river cruise portion of the trip was more than expected. Service and the crew on the boat were excellent, including the food.
    Quality of bicycles was excellent. They were mechanically perfect. The only down side of the entire trip were the nightly route planning meetings and the quality of the maps and route guides. It was obvious that the tour leader giving the route agenda had never ridden the bike paths. Her English was not very good which made it even more difficult to understand the route(s). We had to fend for ourselves (asking people on the street for directions) numerous times because the routes were just not made clear. Also, the route was not what was not the same as what was spelled out on the website.
    Overall, we were very satisfied with the trip.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Carolyn H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We had a a great time . The only feedback I would give is that most of the passengers were German and there was very little information given in English.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Linda T. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed our experience on the Primadonna! Food was delicious and staff were very attentive. Biking the countryside was a definite highlight! Our most spectacular and memorable part of the trip would be cruising into Budapest at night! It was breath taking!!
    We really had a great time and look forward to doing another bike trip soon.

    Boat: Primadonna

PWPC