Austria Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 537

 

 Country: Austria • REMOVE

  • Karen 4 days ago     Verified Reviewer

    I was wondering if you used the pool. Is it warm enough? Did many use it? Thanks

  • Robert L. 5 days ago     Verified Reviewer

    We had never done a Bike & Boat tour before so were hoping it would all work out. And it did fantastically! Ours was a family trip and even our 9-year-old son completed the entire bike route no problem. Such a pleasure to be in the country biking through fields, along the river, even on narrow roads through the small towns and villages we passed through. It was an amazing way to really see the countryside and interact with local people to briefly get a glimpse of their way of life. And the scenery was beautiful and peaceful. An amazing experience for our family and we look forward to doing more trips like this in the future.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Bob R. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    By far the most memorable part was the opportunity to explore regions on our own and meet new people. The ship crew was awesome and attentive, and as this was the first trip of its kind we'd ever taken, it was beyond expectations!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Susan B. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the trails that ran close to the sea shore, as well as passing through the small towns. It’s really important to watch the signage along the way in order to stay on course. It’s sometimes challenging to locate the overnight spots based on the descriptions in the tour materials. They would be better if they provided more detail.

  • Kenneth H. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    The crew was fabulous, all of them!

    Itinerary was excellent the food was great.

    Drinks were too expensive at the bar.

    One suggestion - smoking on the top deck - put the smokers at the back of the boat, not the front, so the rest of us don't have to smell the smoke if we choose to be on deck.

  • Craig A. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    This is a trip that is not to be missed. The crew was great, the sights were jaw dropping and the memories will keep me going for a long time. Second time using Tripsite to book and the experience gets better every time. Already planning on using them for our next trip.

  • Lanette A. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    This was an absolutely amazing trip which exceeded all of our expectations. The food on the Carissima was wonderful, the trip overall was so well organized and the crew was helpful and professional. I would definitely recommend this trip to others.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Cindy T. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    This was our first bike & boat trip and we loved it. Each day was a treat with amazing cathedrals, quaint towns, and Budapest at night was gorgeous! The ship was just as pictured, the crew was very attentive and helpful, and we enjoyed our balcony room on the top level. We were slightly concerned that we'd be the only English speaking passengers, but were up for the adventure. However, most of the crew spoke both English and German and at dinner they placed us among about 8 tables of Canadians, Americans, and others who preferred speaking English to German. Each evening, about 80% of the passengers preferred the bike tour information in German, but they provided a slide show and directions in both languages. The directions were good, an there was only one day we all were a bit lost, but it was fun. With everyone on the boat having distinctive blue panniers, it was easy to follow each other and laugh at our attempts to navigate. We still had plenty of time to see everything Read more… and get to the ship.

    As far as the bike routes, I prefer dedicated bicycle paths (not "sharrows") and loved every ride. Most were on dedicated paved paths, but some traversed through villages on very quiet roads. A few tips: Breakfast was the best meal of the day. Check your packed lunch at breakfast, which typically contained a veggie (cheese) sandwich, a cold cut sandwich, fruit, sparkling water, and a pastry. From the breakfast buffet, you can exchange the fruit and add a slice of meat to your veggie sandwich. If you don't like sparkling water, they will exchange that for bottled water at the reception desk. Dinner was good and I thought the portion size was reasonable given the four course meals (the soups were yummy!). Watch the tightness of the breaks on the bikes (the front break can launch you if you're not careful) but the bikes were in great condition. Plan ahead for your massage (which was fantastic). One came with the room and we purchased a second. We chose to skip one day of biking along the Danube, and we're pleased that we had plenty of time to bike around the town in the morning before the ship left port, get lunch, a massage, and a nap, and then bike around the new port we arrived in that afternoon.

    Thanks to all the crew on the MS Primadonna, who learned our names and favorite drinks by the second day! We miss you already.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • ALAN B. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    The pedaling was easy, the landscape surreal, the beer was excellent! My wife, myself, daughter, and her boyfriend enjoyed the Austrian scenery the most. Wine country is not to be missed. The food on the boat at night was superb. Meeting people from other countries on the boat was a plus.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Terry C. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    This is the only way to do a river cruise. You are able to see and enjoy the country and at the same time stay active and get exercise. The bike paths were mostly flat, very few hills. The boat was very nice with good food and service. The highlight of the trip was entering Budapest at 10 pm. It was more than amazing. The bike guide really tried to prepare us each day for the following day bike ride, but it is easy to get lost and the maps we were given were not very clear.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • John H. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic Value; super helpful staff. Only 80 riders. Very friendly guests attracted. Beautiful sights. Good food. Bikes heavy and clunky with no choice in quality except electric. Excellent trip overall.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • SUSAN C. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Briefing by tour director daily with clear instructions on the following days ride. Highlighting and suggestions where to break for coffee and lunch, and points of interest along the way.
    Breakfast and evening meal was delicious.
    A great range of reasonably priced good quality bike attire, including wet weather jackets ,and bike helmets for sale.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Winifred T. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our most memorable part of the trip was riding with several other cyclists who had better directions, and hence did not get lost!!! We rode through rain and sun, cold wind and steep hills, chic coffee shops and picturesque towns together. This is a wonderful first time experience for our family.
    I'd suggest to get to know other cyclists as soon as possible and try to arrange riding together. This would make the journey more fun.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Sitaraman R. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Travel agent was very helpful with late booking.
    Hotels were excellent.
    Bike company was excellent and helpful.

  • Karen F. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    The bike and barge tour was great! The bike route along the Danube was easy to follow but sometimes the days seemed repetitive. We found the last day of riding the most picturesque. The boat crew was awesome- everyone spoke English well except for the tour guide who struggled with communicating the day to day instructions. The food was very good and plentiful.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Steve F. 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Captain Dan and the crew of the Arlene II were fantastic! Great food, cozy accommodations, and really fun cycling.
    Would recommend the cycling City Tours in both Vienna and Budapest. We did not book these and I think we missed out.
    Our bike/barge holiday was well organized, super relaxing and tons of fun!
    We will definitely be taking another trip with Tripsite! You guys rock!

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Claudia B. 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    My favorite portion was the path from Vienna to Bratislava (and both cities were awesome to visit). We were mostly on the Danube and there were interesting sites along the way. My one suggestion is to let people know that most of the ride through Hungary is not along the river but includes long flat stretches of farmland. The final day going into Budapest was great with 3 ferry rides and a boat trip into the city.

    Countries: Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

  • Scott A. 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Riding in the foothills/vinyards in Austria. Stopping for a beer and a slice of homemade cake at a hotel on the trail.
    The boat was too slow traveling upstream against heavy current. This meant we were late in docking for our next ride. Yes, the current was heavy but this is likely to happen every spring.

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Dave U. 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time on the Danube four countries tour and it was great to bike and to get to visit 3 capital cities. Wonderful and I would highly recommend this trip

    Boat: Normandie

  • Nancy U. 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our table mates(who we had never met before) became our best friends for the week. We did all our rides together and had a great time visiting the different cities. We had brand new bikes of high quality that enhanced the experience.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Yvonne L. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful group of people with extensive travel experience. Biking was fun scenery was great. Loved our farewell party dancing the night away with all our new friends.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Jeff F. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    It’s hard to pick one thing only. I thought the last day of bike riding was the best route, though the first day was a great route, too. There were so many interesting stops along each days ride. A suggestion for others would be to skip the bus tour of Budapest. A walking tour with a guide is better.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Anna F. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Primadonna was superb. We had a very relaxing holiday. Crash between boats in Budapest happened the night before the start of our trip so any delays because of this perfectly understandable. The fact that the Danube was very high was again outside the control of the trip personnel and we appreciated the effort put into making our trip so enjoyable.

    Boat: Primadonna

    Countries: Germany, Serbia, Austria

  • Veronica M. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    It's been a delight to bike around Europe

    Boat: Carissima

  • Donna G. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part: Interactions with passengers from around the world

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Michael H. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part? The nice people on the boat

    Boat: Normandie

  • Lorne H. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Earlier this year (May), my wife and I did the 4 country bike - barge tour, on the Danube. First I have to remark that everything "Tripsite" advertised was delivered at what we thought to be a reasonable price. In spite of unusually cold (damp) weather, our first experience (s) in Passau, Bratislava, Budapest and Vienna were very memorable highlights. However, aboard the "Normandie" we did have some concerns with the overall tour management. There were some particularly disappointing moments with an apparent strategy to keep the English speaking guests, and non-english speaking guests (mostly German) separated? For our part, we were keen to mingle - assimilate with all the guests aboard. That should not reflect our overall impression of the boat crew, who were very courteous and helpful.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Patricia C. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Sailing down the Danube at night under the full moon we witnessed the beautiful lighted bridges and magnificent buildings of Vienna. It was magical!

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Mark R. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable: guided bike tour of Vienna.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Tammy M. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Having great weather was a real bonus. It was awe inspiring to float into the many enormous locks and envisage what the areas must have been like before harnessing the mighty Danube. The never ending beauty of this part of the world and appreciating the pride in property that shows up at every turn and in every village, is what leaves the greatest memories.

    Boat: Arlene II

PWPC