England Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 14 of 14

 

 Country: England • REMOVE

  • Jeffrey A. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Antonenella, our guide was awesome, as was our two helpers! We loved riding through the countryside of both France and England, it was so beautiful. This trip is highly recommended. Our group was made up of 16 people from different countries, so it made for a fun group. If you are not used to biking up hills, we recommend renting the e-bikes, because they really make this trip wonderful. There is time to enjoy the sites and sounds around you. Half our group wore biking shorts and the other half wore shorts and t-shirts. American tennis shoes are fine. Bring a padded seat cover and padded shorts, because it will help a lot. We all met for dinner each night, so bring a few nicer clothes. Bikers are provided with one small pack wit maps per couple, that attaches to handle bars. I put sanitizer, gum, money and my phone in the pack. Everyone is provided with a side pack to go on their bike. We put an extra bottle of water, lunch and jackets in the bags. Make sure you have a phone that works Read more… in Europe. Our group got split up in Paris and the sweeper, last person had to call the leader. We had one road rash incident the first day and one flat tire four days in. Our support guys picked up the couple, fixed his bike and met us up ahead. One of the ladies who did the self guided tour hit the ground with her face, but she was a trooper and finished too. My husband and I have traveled a lot, but this is the best trip ever!

    Countries: France, England

  • Steven S. 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Tour operators were very nice. For example, they gave us ride back to town rather than call a taxi.
    Two days were relatively flat, two were hilly, especially the last day when riding back to the farm from Ludlow. Plenty of historical sites. Recommended lunch stops didn't meet our schedule, so be prepared.
    Be aware:
    -no cyclometer (I had my own Garmin),
    -no TripSite water bottles - take your own,
    -no detailed directions for optional rides - just a list of way-points,
    -only one handlebar bag per couple - for the person carrying the map. (each bike has a pannier)
    There is a heavy-duty road map included, which was helpful. I also traced the routes on Google maps the night before to know what landmarks to look for, as many streets and roads are not signed.
    Some of the riding is along narrow roads between tall hedgerows. It's like riding in a tunnel - not very scenic.
    Overall, we enjoyed the biking experience, the stops, and Ludlow.

    Countries: England, Wales

  • Julie S 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Denne turen var helt fantastisk! De som står for service og transport av bagasje er helt supre og veldig hyggelige mennesker. Ved bruk av en egen app, går turen som en lek! I de større byene er det lett å navigere seg frem og kjempe fint landskap å sykle i. Kan anbefale denne turen til alle! :)

    Countries: France, England

  • Lynn F. 3 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Did you find the hills on the England side to be hard?

    Countries: France, England

  • Susan 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    We you happy with the accommodation?

    Countries: France, England

  • Fulton A. 8 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    First time doing a long "unguided" trip, and loved it. We got just the right amount of support each morning and evening. Wonderful maps and directions. Great fun.

    Countries: France, England

  • Kevin Armstrong 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Very nice tour following much of the Avenue Verte. Girolibero and Adriano were fantastic hosts on the unguided tour from Paris to London. The route was probably a little more unpaved then I expected an as such would not recommend bringing your own road bike to do the tour. We met and road with some amazing people from around the world making new friends and seeing areas that were amazing sites in the small villages and countryside.

    Countries: France, England

  • Peter M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Scenery along the route and the knowledge and experience of our guide.

    Countries: France, England

  • Barb V. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time biking, the bikes and maps were wonderful! The biking was hilly! It was very hot, unusual for wales, and the hotel did not help us when we asked to open the windows more. They also wanted to give us two separate rooms because they did not have a twin room available. That took some sorting out! All in all it was very memorable and can't wait to go again!

    Countries: England, Wales

  • Kevin from Trailsnet.com 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The Shakespeare Country tour could just as easily be called Cotswold Country Tour since Bill the Bard shares the spotlight with amazing British panoramas. This was my third time visiting Stratford-Upon-Avon and, fortunately, it's the type of place you can tour again and again and still have a rewarding experience each time.
    After touring Stratford, it was time to start bicycling in the incredible Cotswolds. Prepare to be awestruck. Each day, you will discover new sights, meet friendly people and ride on stunning bike routes. Don't forget to stop into historic pubs for a pint of ale or cider along the way and, whatever you do, experiment with new treats. Even if the food names sound a little strange, be brave and give them a try. You may find your next favorite culinary delight. And when you get to the town of Broadway, be sure to hike up to the famous Broadway Tour. The journey up there is absolutely breathtaking and the views from the top are out of this world. What a Read more… fantastic bicycling adventure!!!

    Countries: England

  • Kevin from Trailsnet.com 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    What a fantastic tour this is!! It includes a little bit of everything: scenery, history and fantastic bicycle adventures. And the accommodations were incredible. I can easily say that I've never stayed in a more historic yet comfortable hotel in my life. And that was especially important with this particular tour because it is all based out of the medieval market town of Ludlow, so your hotel is your home base for each day of cycling.
    If you decide to do this tour, prepare to enjoy the historically and gastronomically famous town of Ludlow and the surrounding area. The food is marvelous and the landscapes are spectacular!!

    Countries: England, Wales

  • E. Greer 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Everything did not go perfectly all the time but we had a great time and the guys from Girolibero were always doing their best to help out when needed.

    Countries: France, England

  • Ailsa Watkinson 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    I became very ill on my last day and could not complete the trip. It was dehydration. Our leader (Alex?) had to drive me into London. At no point along the way were we reminded to drink lots of water. In fact Alex did not recognize that I might have been dehydrated. Please make sure and remind people to drink, drink, drink (H2O).
    thank you.

    Countries: France, England

  • Chris Prince 5 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Loads of fun and quite hilly. The castle at Stokesay and Ludlow were worth the price of admission alone. Locals are super friendly, climate mild during the summer. Some fairly treacherous roads to traverse, and moderately challenging mapping. Fantastically fun, though! Made for a great adventure for the second part of our honeymoon.

    Countries: England, Wales

PWPC