Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Caprice 1 to 13 of 13

 

 Boat/Barge: Caprice • REMOVE  About Caprice

  • Marc L. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    The mutual congeniality among the group was especially memorable and was facilitated by every element of the trip! Antonella, our cycling guide from Avignon to Aigues-Mortes, was the glue which brought us all together - she was a delight! The accommodations, with several locations for socializing in comfort, encouraged us to relate to each other in multiple group configurations. Finally, the variety of daily itineraries gave us many options to enjoy beautiful scenery and cultural highlights.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Susan F. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    The Avignon to Aigues-Mortes bike-barge trip was terrific. Our guide, Antonella, was knowledgeable about the area as well as about the route. She did an amazing job of ensuring our safety and making it a really fun ride. We would have loved to stop at a winery or two!

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Cheryl M. 8 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Amazing staff and great guide

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Margaret H. 8 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    The whole crew on our barge was wonderful, helpful and contributed greatly to the enjoyment of the week. The food was excellent, plentiful and culturally relevant. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, capable, experienced and fun ... great assets!

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Scott & Liz P. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Having never done a “biking” vacation before, this was our first experience and I will say that we both felt that this would be something that we would definitely want to do again.
    The equipment was in great condition and was properly geared for the terrain that we encountered. The guide on our tour was part historian, part musician, part artist and part entertainer. He made our trip come alive with insightful facts and was always encouraging with all of the clients on the tour. We constantly felt special in the opportunities we had to gain access to sites that we toured.
    The crew on the boat was exceptional as well. We were always made to feel at home and quickly realized how much effort they all placed on us enjoying ourselves.
    The meals served on board were exceptional as well. Our chef Sara, provided seasonal, and local dishes that enhanced our journey through Provence.
    Lastly, we would have to say that biking through Provence was by far, the Read more… best was to tour Provence. We often felt more like citizens of the country than tourists. We will never forget the wonderful times we had, especially with the Dropbox videos and photos that our tour guide send us upon our return home.
    This was undoubtedly one of the best vacation experiences that we have ever had.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Clive P. 10 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    My main disappointment was that we did not go to Chateauneuf du Pape, that was one off the considerations in picking this tour. I understand the reasoning for the change in itinerary but it should be removed from the description if it is not being included. The gearing on the bikes could be better, higher top gear, lower bottom gear, for this tour. I hope this doesn't sound too negative as we did enjoy the tour. Most memorable sites were Les Beux/Les Carrieres de Lumieres and Pont-du-Gare.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Peggy S. 10 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    It's hard to choose a most memorable part of the trip. Aigues Mortes was a big surprise -- the history, the walls and the tower, and the special celebration -- the bull games -- taking place while we were there. The Camargue was amazing, with the waterways and the vineyards, the distinct breeds of horses and the bulls. Provence was beautiful with the olive groves and apple orchards, and of course more vineyards. It was exciting to visit the sites where Van Gogh had painted in Arles, and Hugo's commentary was superb. Singing Starry Starry night on deck under the starry night was lovely. The visit to Les Baux, with the spectacular scenery and Les Carrieres des Lumieres in the quarry were fabulous. We enjoyed visiting the Pont du Gard and singing Sur Le Pont d'Avignon as we cruised passed the bridge itself.

    Now the areas for improvement: The bikes were not good enough for the Provence segment. We understood that we would be provided with 27 gear bikes, but Read more… had an infinite gearing system instead, and the lowest gear wasn't enough for the hills we encountered. Those with electric bikes were happier. Also, through some poor communication between Tripsite and the tour operator, Girolibero, a part of the trip route that our group had been particularly interested in -- a visit to Chateau Neuf du Pape -- was no longer included. Hugo did his best, with a vote (which came out even) to see whether we should go to Chateau Neuf du Pape or take the shorter route that had been promised to the others on the trip. Then he flipped a coin. We accepted the decision as appropriate, but were disappointed that we had not got what was advertised through Tripsite.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Debbie S. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    The Italian barge staff and guide Carlos made the group feel like family. We laughed so much every day. It was sad to leave at the end of the week. Cycling, scenery was all very nice.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Judith K. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    The bike tour was terrific and exactly what our group was looking for. Biking along quiet country lanes and through vineyards. Our Italian cabin crew was fabulous.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Nancy R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Cycling itself throughout southern France

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Beverly P. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Amazing scenery - good guide, manageable route, fantastic food. Only thing that could have been improved was wifi on the boat. If more than two or three people were using it, it was impossible to connect and always very slow.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Gloria P. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The routes of this trip were fantastic, even though the Lavender was not in bloom the fragrances hung in the air as we rode by the harvested fields. We rode to some of France's National Monuments which was special in of itself. I thought the routes and itineraries were great. I always looked forward to what they had planned for us next. Our guide and all the staff on the barge were all wonderful and so happy to share this journey with us! The food was excellent - who knew there would be such fine dining on the barge! This is an adventure not to be missed!

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Robert M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our bike guide was terrible. He was lost several times each day and didn't the happenings of each town so we all missed the running of the bulls and he shouted & criticized all riders.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

PWPC