Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Flora (formerly Jelmar) 1 to 11 of 11

 

 Boat/Barge: Flora (formerly Jelmar) • REMOVE  About Flora (formerly Jelmar)

  • Shaunna K. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    I enjoyed staying on a barge and taking in the beautiful scenery along the way.

    Boat: Flora (formerly Jelmar)

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Andrew N. 3 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    I was clearly the fattest and least fit of the 12 guests on this 4 day bike and barge tour. My bride and I found all aspects of the tour to be above our expectations. The barge itself was something of a tardas. No the rooms were not massive but enough for two and well planned. The showers are small but hot and the beds surprisingly comfortable. The meals were beautiful. As a group we asked if the meals would be all traditional meals. I do not think this was the cooks intention so she changed every meal for us. Splendid food, warm and plenty to go round. The bikes were better than expected. Each day we traveled more KM with about 35 on the third day. I have to admit towards the end I did nearly give up. Note for next time break in your bottom and get a few km into your legs. Overall a great experience. We saw a lot of nature both of the animal and plant kind. Flowers cheese and at night a city walk. Our hosts and guide spoke English well and were a delight to spend time Read more… with. Go on book the tour, you know you want to.

    Boat: Flora (formerly Jelmar)

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Mike R. 10 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part? Everything! The scenery, the guide, the nature of the bike routes, the people.

    Boat: Flora (formerly Jelmar)

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Sandy R. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Awesome opportunity to experience the many Dutch highlights and tulips without being too touristy. The 4 day Tulip Tour offered an easy ride for retired bikers but was still adventurous and so interesting with incredibly beautiful scenery. Our guide, Bob, was fun, well organized and knowledgable about the area and towns we visited. The Jelmar berth was really comfortable and clean and they offered us first rate meals. Definitely a trip of a lifetime for me!

    Boat: Flora (formerly Jelmar)

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Karen B. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    I am a very experienced cyclist (raced in my younger days). The condition of the bicycles left something to be desired. For example, the headsets of the bikes were not tightened after the handlebars were straightened out as they were distributed to the group. The loose headset contributed to an accident that resulted in an injury.

    I suppose it is a common type of bicycle in Holland, but the upright positioning and lack of rake on the front fork made the bike inherently unstable. I got used to it pretty quickly, but some of the group never did. Only about half of our group were regular cyclists, and that made riding in/with the group an exercise in self-protection. Fortunately, my brakes worked well.

    Also, lessons on how to cycle in the Netherlands (rules of the road, etc.) could have been more complete and reinforced each day. Our group tended to bunch up whenever stopped, blocking the way for others, and again, verging on dangerous. The guide said nothing. Read more… After one of our group said something to the guide, he finally started paying more attention to keeping the group together at traffic signals. Another part of the group tended to ride in the pedestrian lanes- they stopped doing that after getting a thorough tongue-lashing from a Dutchman walking his dog.

    All this said- the general content of the trip was wonderful- the tulips, the cities, the countryside... we thoroughly enjoyed that. Would we do it again? Unsure... perhaps if we could be with a more experienced group.

    Boat: Flora (formerly Jelmar)

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Yun S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Best Parts: Easy booking process, online Q & A instant answers. Safe bike routes, great time on bikes!

    Boat: Flora (formerly Jelmar)

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruce N. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Biking the rural/countryside of Holland

    Boat: Flora (formerly Jelmar)

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Jo-Anne W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    What an Experience! Our Barge, the Jelmar, was spacious with a nice private bathroom. Albert-Jon was a great Captain and our meals were outstanding! We certainly were never hungry and the menus were very unique and delicious. The bikes were great and pretty comfy. Petra our guide was terrific. We not only enjoyed our Biking with her, but she also took us on evening walking tours of the little villages we were docked in. Being local, she was able to indulge us in a lot of the history of the areas. The Tulip fields, and beautiful architecture were delightful and of course the Keukenhof was AMAZING! Loved the little stops along the way for ice cream or coffee. Learning of the Working Windmills and speaking with overseers was so interesting. The little Cheese farm we visited was terrific. They even vacuumed our cheese for us to bring home. The Aalsmeer Flower auction was like a beautiful ballet and the millions of flowers the backdrop to the workers performances. I have Read more… already forwarded the trip information to several co-workers and friends. Truly a MUST DO.

    Boat: Flora (formerly Jelmar)

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Leslie B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was the biking and the touring of various cities in the evening. I was interested in seeing if I could physically do the biking and found it was no problem at all.

    Boat: Flora (formerly Jelmar)

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Andi 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Although the weather was rather rough in April, the tulip fields were lovely. Our guide was sweet and attentive, but her lack of experience in working with large, diverse groups created some difficult situations. With more experience, she will be super. Two bikes needed basic repairs within the first twenty minutes of biking, indicating that they had not been checked prior to our group's arrival. The captain of the Jelmar was skillful in managing the barge, but his people skills are still developing. Enough said.
    Jelmar April 2017

    Boat: Flora (formerly Jelmar)

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Nitin Raj S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The best part was the flower Gardens and flower fields.

    Boat: Flora (formerly Jelmar)

    Countries: Netherlands

PWPC