3 star rated Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 105

 

  • Helen W. 4 days ago     Verified Reviewer

    Scenery was great, bring a camel back if you like to drink water while riding, most bikes did not have a cage for the water bottle, instead you kept it in the pannier. Our guide, Eduaro, did not seem to know where we could stop to take a break or use a bathroom, he said everythng was closed on Mondays and Tuesdays, this was a problem for the women in the group, it was hot and we needed to keep hydrated.
    The captain, chef and assistant Vera were wonderful and did all they could to make us comfortable.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • janet a. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Best part: Route we rode. Some of the small towns and countryside.

    Countries: Germany

  • Cynthia Y. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    It was nice just to boat and bike along in the river, seeing the Czech people relaxing and enjoying life along the riverbanks.

    On the negative side, we had an uncomfortable experience when we first arrived at Prague train station, needing to get on the bus. The email that Tripsite sent us said to wait on the side of the train station OPPOSITE the car park - near the restaurant inside (restaurant name has changed, so did not agree with the name given in the email). Well, the bus was parked on the OTHER side of the street for at least a half hour. I did not notice it over there, as I was focused on the station/restaurant side of the street, checking every bus that arrived, but none said "MS Florentina". Well, eventually the bus did drive to the side of the street we were on, but when we got on board there were not enough seats for us! We were willing to stand, but the driver would not allow that. The tour guide didn't bother to come on the bus, so no one was in Read more… charge. Eventually, four of our friends exited the bus and took an UBER. I think they were reimbursed for that expense, but not right away. This was very uncomfortable for us! All the German speaking people on the bus must have thought we were idiots, and holding up the entire show!
    Later in the week when two buses drove us into Prague, they told us repeatedly that the bus would return to the boat at 4pm. When we arrived in Prague and were exiting the bus, the driver told us 5pm!!! There really seemed to be a breakdown in communications between the bus driver and the boat.
    I also didn't like the markup on the drinking water. You can buy a big bottle of water for about 75 cents, but the boat charged the equivalent of $3.00. When we booked this trip were had no idea there would not be potable water. Then to have that kind of markup seemed petty.

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • Nancy Q. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    We booked this tour last fall with 10 friends and unfortunately the route had to be changed in Jan due to repair work done on one of the rivers that prevented the boat from departing from Prague. Unfortunately miss directions were given to us about where to wait for a bus that would pick us up at the main train station and drive us to the new location of the MS Florentina. This caused much confusion as we were waiting on the wrong side of the street. Once we boarded the bus there was not enough room for everyone to be seated. The driver did not speak English nor was there a representative on board from the MS Florentina who could direct us. Four of our friends had to take an Uber. This set the trip off on a very disturbing note and delayed our arrival.
    In addition our guide, Frank seemed condescending when asked questions about our activities and often times gave us miss information about the routes. Our bike paths often took us past areas that were not scenic and quite Read more… bumpy.

    Although we enjoyed being with our friends on this journey the logistics of the trip were less than satisfying.

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • Emily H. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was actually the time spent with friends. We had five couples join us on this trip. They were all new to bike and boat, and it was our fifth. They all enjoyed their experience. Since we were the only group of Americans on the trip, we were happy to be joined by friends who spoke English!

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • Eileen E. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of our trip was the Keukenhof. Would recommend packing clothes to layer, gloves, and rain gear.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Donna G. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part: Interactions with passengers from around the world

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Mik L. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    The Loire was wonderful, Jon the guide was wonderful and Lunch in Adon was Magnifique!

    Countries: France

  • Geraldine D. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    We really liked the MS Arkona, the staff and our F&B head mgr. Routes were Ok, but need better route descriptions esp for English speakers. Electric bikes were excellent! Def the better way to really enjoy the ride!

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Richard F. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our self-guided Bruge/Amsterdam had given us a detailed book as well as GPS. This was [portugal coast] only GPS and one road was not usable due to a rock slide, so we had to go around a mountain with no real help with map. Also, they warned us of bad road conditions due to fire last year in their big forest. They were surely right as 15 miles of solid potholes and loose rock were what we got.

    Countries: Portugal

  • Cheryl M. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the little towns, biking through them. Really nice trails. Sadly rain a couple of days but can't control the weather.

    Boat: De Amsterdam

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Susan M. 8 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable-one big friendly group. Chef and Pilot were fine; guide and barge were adequate.

    Boat: Anna Maria IV

    Countries: France

  • Janis B. 8 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery, hotels and food were great. People were very friendly. The maps for this self-guided trip around Lake Constance were not detailed enough, did not provide information for intersections and turns. We had many times that we did not which way to go. Definitely need better maps.

  • Kimberly H. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the various opportunities to swim in the sea, off the boat and at the beach. It was interesting to learn the unique history of each island we visited.

    Boat: Love Boat (formerly BB2)

    Countries: Greece

  • Barry N. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    It’s quite difficult to review this trip as there were many great experiences like the scenery after we escaped the narrow valley from Innsbruck to about Imst but there were some cons. In the beginning of the trip we felt the cycle path, even though fantastic to have, was often too close to the railway or an autobahn (and the associated noise) to make for wonderful riding.
    The hotels and half board were mostly good but some noisy and the one in Imst not only noisy but also the food was definitely (for half board), poor.
    Some hotels were standouts - the small excellent hotel in Mals and the food in the hotel in Meran.
    The guides were not accurate with addendums with corrections and GPS (as per our previous bike trip) would have been better.

    Countries: Austria, Italy

  • Gloria C. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    My trip was the Villages of Provence. A wonderful area to bike through. I would suggest that the orientation be set for a determined amount of time to allow for complete question and answer time. Also it would be helpful to go through the use of the GPS thoroughly. The bike maintenance was not done prior to our week long trip. The tail light and the computer on my bike did not function properly. All in all the hotels, service, food, and ambience were wonderful. I’d highly recommend this trip to intermediate to advanced cyclists.

    Countries: France

  • Estela B. 10 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    This is a great tour, with wonderful cities to visit and scenic bike rides. The barge was perfect, great food and service. We enjoyed the evening music and dancing very much. A heat wave happened while we were there, so we had a great time on the sun deck
    I was not as happy with the bikes. I was in charge of a group of 25 and at least 6 of them had bike issues: brakes that worked only in the front or back, e-bikes that only assisted when pedaling at full throttle, and more. Even though we reported this, and we were told they would fix the bikes, in reality the bikes were not repaired by the next day, and it took time and effort to get them replaced. I expected more from Rad & Reisen, the bike company. Also there was very little instruction on how to use the e-bikes. My suggestion is to have a person at the dock on the first day to give a 10 minute one-on-one instruction on the e-bike and make the person do a little test ride. It was not as intuitive how to use them if you Read more… never have done it.
    Another issue that could have been better is a bigger, clearer map on how to get to the path from the barge location. That part is usually the hardest.
    All that said, it was still a nice, memorable trip.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Lee F. 10 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    It was an altogether pleasant experience; the highlight was the lovely little village of Saint-Émilion.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Florence B. 11 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    This is a great ride, if you use the right company. We used Tripsite, who contracted Austria Radreisen, not the company to use. We were told that Austria Redreisen would meet us at the hotel in Passau the day before the trip was to start...they did not show( a competitor company, Donau, spent 2 hours with their clients, in our hotel). We tried to contact Austria Radreisen at their 'emergency' number...no one answer/no answering machine. The day the tour was to start, they delivered two bikes which were extremely heavy, and with 7 speed changers....we had specifically ordered 21 speed hybrids. The bikes were delivered by the person who picked up the suitcases, and we were told by him that he had no knowledge of how the bikes worked...we were on our own to figure them out. In spite of being in good physical condition, we found the bikes very difficult to use, as they would not coast. After 2 days with the heavy bikes, we had to take a day off as we were exhausted. Read more… Thanks to the help of a receptionist at the Courtyard Marriot in Linz, the company delivered replacement 21 speed hybrids(which we should have received in the first place) at our next hotel (we had to take the train to get there), which we used with no problems the rest of the way. The hotels provided by the company were excellent, and the travel maps adequate. We certainly will not go with this company again when we plan our next bike tour.

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Jeff K. 11 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Beautiful chateaus. Great wine. Not allowed to drink in cabin. Cabin extremely small. Shower barely fit one person. Guide excellent. No sauna or hot tub. I would recommend this trip but not this boat (the Bordeaux).

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Pam M. 11 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    A great trip in many ways. Good staff - helpful and friendly. Good scenic route with chances to visit places of interest, very good food. Only draw back was problems with 3 out of 4 'E' bikes and a lack of expertise in how to fix them causing stress to some riders.

    Boat: Feniks

    Countries: France

  • Howard H. 12 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    The Magnifique II was fine and the food was good. One thing I found odd was the staff joined us at the bar at night. The bar had limited seating and they took up the stools while passengers stood. Not cool. I found the biking boring. There were no interesting stops other than the cities. Amsterdam, Ghent and Bruges were very nice. The Netherlands were rather dull. On other tours we stopped at wineries, Chateaus or interesting landmarks. Here the guides just stopped and said there is coffee or a church you can visit. Not very organized. Their goal seemed to be to keep us out long enough to reach the boat. I would not recommend this tour.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Brad W. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Much of the bike ride was difficult to navigate. Signs on the road are not always clear. Expected more country rides but much of the bike ride was through cities with many vehicles (somewhat dangerous). If we elect to travel with Tripsite again, we will do more research to determine ease of navigation along the bike route and how much of the route is through traffic.

    Boat: Arlene II

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Mary R. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    The cruise through the iron gate was a highlight of this trip. Cruise director did a great job throughout the cruise. Weather was much warmer than average and many days of biking were at 90 degrees F on roads and trails with little cover or shade so were somewhat more difficult than anticipated. It was a great experience but people need to be aware that most of the riding in the Eastern European countries are on the side of roads sometimes without a bike lane and there was some traffic.

  • Howard B. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    The attentiveness and skill of the crew was most memorable. Chris was an awesome guide, encouraging everyone and being a wealth of knowledge about the environs. Conor was personable and available to share her knowledge and experience. Kim is a great cook and quite a character. Together, they overcame the limitation of an outdated too small barge to create an environment that allowed the riders to really enjoy the countryside and each other.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Karen B. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    I am a very experienced cyclist (raced in my younger days). The condition of the bicycles left something to be desired. For example, the headsets of the bikes were not tightened after the handlebars were straightened out as they were distributed to the group. The loose headset contributed to an accident that resulted in an injury.

    I suppose it is a common type of bicycle in Holland, but the upright positioning and lack of rake on the front fork made the bike inherently unstable. I got used to it pretty quickly, but some of the group never did. Only about half of our group were regular cyclists, and that made riding in/with the group an exercise in self-protection. Fortunately, my brakes worked well.

    Also, lessons on how to cycle in the Netherlands (rules of the road, etc.) could have been more complete and reinforced each day. Our group tended to bunch up whenever stopped, blocking the way for others, and again, verging on dangerous. The guide said nothing. Read more… After one of our group said something to the guide, he finally started paying more attention to keeping the group together at traffic signals. Another part of the group tended to ride in the pedestrian lanes- they stopped doing that after getting a thorough tongue-lashing from a Dutchman walking his dog.

    All this said- the general content of the trip was wonderful- the tulips, the cities, the countryside... we thoroughly enjoyed that. Would we do it again? Unsure... perhaps if we could be with a more experienced group.

    Boat: Flora (formerly Jelmar)

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Julie R. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Overall, it was a great trip - boat and crew, bikes, guide, fellow passengers. Where this trip fell short of a previous bike boat trip that I did, was that this trip lacked interesting stops along our cycle route. It felt more like getting from point A to point B with a brief coffee or lunch stop - no tours along the way. From my understanding in talking with the boat owner/captain, the cycling routes and stops are planned by Bike Boat Tours.

    Boat: Zwaan

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tom L. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    The Quo Vadis was super! The food, accommodations, staff and bikes were all terrific.
    However, we were unprepared for the traffic and city riding intensity. Marsha is an experienced recreational rider but had no idea how to deal with traffic. She completed the first day and began another, but turned back after the first half kilometer and packed it in after that. City traffic and congested cycling is something only urban folks experience, so we and others were unprepared. We were were really expecting a leisurely paced scenic tour, not the frantic paced marathon we got. The trip was listed as easy, but a 12 mph average speed for 36 miles is ridiculous for most recreational cyclists, especially when you’re there for scenery and cultural experience along with cycling.
    Additionally, once you start for the day, there is no practical way to drop our.
    So, if we were to look for another bike barge trip, we would be looking for:
    Quo Vadis or equal
    20-25 mile Read more… days maximum
    8-10 mph average speed maximum
    Route maps
    Routing to avoid urban traffic
    More short stops to smell the flowers.
    Ultimately, we were disappointed in the cycling portion of the trip feeling it was not so much for tourists who like to ride. We (and others) felt the guide placed too much emphasis on covering miles and not enough on making it pleasurable.
    Tripsite staff is superb and did everything they promised. Thanks.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Brenda M. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    The tulip tour trip is too short, but cycling around the flowering bulb fields was wonderful. Visiting Keukenhof gardens in bloom was great. I didn't like assigned seating for our meals and the buffet organization on the Fluvius was terrible, especially when trying to make lunches in a tiny space with everyone grabbing stuff. Food arrangements were the weakest part of the tour, although they also hired an awful lounge singer one night.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Terrence Z. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    This potentially could be a great tour but it was not a great tour for us. The tour guide book was in German which we do not read, thus we wasted a lot of time every day being lost! Also, the provided bikes were not of the best quality, and pedaling them was not easy! The hotels were fine, but we would not recommend this tour unless you read German!

    Countries: Germany

PWPC